The District is headed by the District Magistrate followed by an Additional District Magistrate (ADM) as second-in-command. The district is divided into 3 subdivisions and one Sub Divisional Magistrate (SDM) is head of each subdivision. Each Subdivision is having revenue and clerical staff for its various functions. For revenue functions each subdivision has Tehsildar, Naib-Tehsildar, Kanungo and Patwaris in that order. For other functions, there is clerical staff.

The three subdivisions are-:

  1. Karawal Nagar
  2. Yamuna  Vihar
  3. Seelampur

District Magistrate (North East) has also been designated as Joint Chief Electoral Officer (North East) for performing election related duties. In this work, he is assisted by all the SDMs and SDM (Election). For work relating to registration of documents, there is office of Sub-Registrar (North East) directly under the control & supervision of District Magistrate Office of the BDO(North East) is also a part of the office of District Magistrate. Headed by the Block Development Officer, this office is responsible for custody of Gaon Sabha land and promotion of Agriculture, Horticulture and Developmental activities in the village. There is also a centre of NIC in the district which facilitates computerization in the district and links the district with the world through internet.

Office of the District Magistrate (North-East) offers a wide variety of services to the public such as:-

  1. Services pertaining to ownership of land
  2. Issuance of certificates
  3. Registration of Marriage
  4. Registration of Documents
  5. Relief & Rehabilitation
  6. Loans for self employment
  7. Stamping of Documents
  8. Functions of LHA under prevention of food Adulteration Act
  9. Functions of Magistrate Under Cr Pc
  10. Land Acquisition
  11. Regulatory functions under Environment protection Act

Miscellaneous functions under various acts, rules & control orders